Purchasing a 2002 530i

Hi Everyone,

I've never owned a BMW before - but I'm *this* close to buying a 2002 530i.

I've test driven it and it's fantastic - I noted a few pixels out on the dashboard display (above the steering column) but other than that - I can't fault it. The steering was tight, brakes felt good, transmission was smooth, engine was sweet - but I'm no car expert.

It's done 197,000kms (122,000 miles). Is that a lot in BMW terms? Is there anything specific I should now be looking for?

I'd appreciate any tips.

Cheers, Jason

Big Daddy

122,000 miles is a lot in any terms, however a well maintained BMW engine can last well into the 200's to 300's, however I would think that that was a lot of miles on a 2002 model, that is 24,000 miles a year well above the national average. Do they have service records and what are they asking for this car?

It has full service records - one owner since new. The owner lived in the country, so the bulk of the mileage is long distance trips of over 150 miles.

They're asking $28,000 Australian Dollars which is very hard to translate to US doillars as BMW's sell cheaper there than here in Oz. As a comparison though, it's about $10k cheaper than anything else around the same age.

As it's through a dealer, I can get a 12 month premium warranty with it - so I feel reasonable confident it'll be ok.

If the dead pixels are my biggest worry - I'll be happy!

I have 103,500 on an 02 530I . Had the dealer service just before the warranty expired at 100k and everything seemed fine. Have the dealer fix the pixels, mine went bad about 85k and they charged me $50 as they said it was not a bulb but the display itself going bad. IN other words it won't get better and I have read that they can run $300-$400 to replace.. G00d luck and drive like the wind!!!

rufryder